Creed

“My horse fights with me
and fasts with me,
because if he is to carry me into battle
he must know my heart,
and I must know his, or we
shall never become brothers.
I have been told that the white man
who is almost a god and yet
a great fool,
does not believe that the horse has a spirit.
This cannot be true.
I have many times seen my horse’s soul
in his eyes.”

-The words of Crow Chief Plenty-Coups

From The West – an illustrated history, by Geoffrey C. Ward

I found this quote particularly applicable, as Zil often carries me through my battles with bipolar illness and depression. Her beautiful soul does indeed shine out of her eyes to light my world. It may sound trite, but many things people say may sound trite because they are so universally true.

Leave a Reply

